David S. Scalia, in practice since 1992 brings more than 30 years of experience in fighting for the rights of injured plaintiffs. Since the beginning his practice has emphasized post-trial review in both the trial and appellate courts. Mr. Scalia has co-authored briefs to the United States Supreme Court, and the United States First and Third Circuit Courts of Appeal,  and he has briefed and argued matters before the United States Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals, the Louisiana Supreme Court, and Louisiana’s First, Fourth, and Fifth Circuit Courts of Appeal.

In 1994, Mr. Scalia and several prominent plaintiff lawyers and law firms from New Orleans and around the country joined together to pursue the groundbreaking national cigarette class action Castano v. The American Tobacco Company.  That case, eventually pursued in Louisiana as Gloria Scott v. The American Tobacco Company, went to trial in New Orleans in 2004, and resulted in a jury verdict of more than $500 million.  In 2005, for his work on the Scott Tobacco case, Mr. Scalia was honored as a Trial Lawyer of the Year Finalist by the Trial Lawyers for Public Justice.

Mr. Scalia’s current practice continues to focus on class action and complex litigation on a national scale, now including major pharmaceutical industry antitrust and RICO litigation, most recently as a member of the End Payor Plaintiffs team in In Re: Ranbaxy Generic Drug Application Antitrust Litigation, MDL 2878 in the District of Massachusetts.  The Ranbaxy case was a national multidistrict class action advancing both antitrust and RICO allegations against Big Pharma’s GlaxoSmithKline.  The case settled in early 2022 for $145 million.

Mr. Scalia is admitted to practice in all state courts in Louisiana, as well as the United States District Courts for the Eastern, Middle, and Western Districts of Louisiana, the United States Fifth Circuit Court of Appeal, and the United States Supreme Court.

He is a member of the Louisiana Association for Justice where he previously served as a member of the Association’s Board of Governors.  He is also a member of the American Association for Justice, The New Orleans Bar Association, The Jefferson Bar Association, and The Federal Bar Association.